Thursday 19 April 2018

Meed extends deadline for quality awards

Dubai, August 19, 2010

Meed, a leading business information provider, has extended the deadline for receiving entries for the first Quality Awards for Projects in the Middle East.

The entries which were due to be submitted before August 22 can now be completed by October 28, Meed said in a statement.

The event which will be held in Bahrain, has also been moved back to March 22, 2011 from its original December 2010 date to allow for the six judges from each of the GCC countries to convene and reach a decision accordingly.

“The Quality Awards for Projects recognises achievement in construction for projects that have been completed between June 2008 and June 2010,” said Edmund O’ Sullivan, chairman of the Meed Quality Awards for Projects.

“Most of the information required needs contractors and vendors to be involved in the process, making it a fairly complex and time-consuming process.”

“Hence, upon consultation with the current registered entrants, it was felt that the deadline must be extended to give every potential entrant the chance of success that their projects deserve,” he added.

Meed said it has already received over a hundred registrations from projects across 11 award categories.

Meed’s Quality Awards for Projects 2010 aim to celebrate the achievements of the GCC’s project market and support the regional drive for economic diversification through the construction of world-class infrastructure and facilities.

The awards will recognise project teams that have demonstrated quality in construction, design and project delivery.

Entries for the awards are being accepted in several categories such as oil and gas project of the year, industrial project of the year, the project of the year in power and desalination and water reuse, according to the statement.

Other categories include leisure and tourism, transport and logistics, roads, as well as the best social and sustainable projects.

An award for the Outstanding Achievement of the Year will be given to an individual with exemplary contributions to best practices in the field, while the Meed Project of the Year 2010 will be presented to a project from any category that exemplifies world-class quality in construction. – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: Dubai | Meed | Deadline | Projects | entries | Quality Awards |

More Construction & Real Estate Stories

calendarCalendar of Events