Thursday 20 September 2018

Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer

Emirates Energy Award entries open until Jan 20

Dubai, December 26, 2012

The Dubai Supreme Council of Energy will continue to receive applications for entry into the various categories of the Emirates Energy Awards (EEA) 2012-2013 until January 20, said a top official.

“This award is organised under the patronage of Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai,” said Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, vice chairman of the Supreme Council of Energy and president of the EEA.

“The EEA is one of the most significant initiatives under the Dubai Supreme Council of Energy that helps drive sustainable development as well as raise awareness in our society about the importance of using energy efficiently.  The award aims to honour the best practices in energy conservation among industries, businesses and at individual level.”

“The importance of this award lies in the fact that it recognises global excellence in all areas of the energy industry, encouraging individuals as well as institutions for their contributions in innovation, technological advancements and best practices,” Al Tayer added.

“The awards also provide a platform for constant sustainable development, not only in the UAE but in the Mena region.”

Al Tayer explained that the awards, which take place every two years, also recognise the achievements in both the public and private sectors in energy efficiency.  The award programme is based on objective criteria which ensure a fair evaluation of all the candidates, and a committee has been nominated to select the winners. The formal award ceremony will be held in May 2013.

The entries are open to institutions and individuals from the Mena region. Projects submitted for the awards should be running for a period of no less than one year prior to December 2012.

Winners can apply for the next year’s award as well, with the exception of applications in the same category, which will be required to wait for three years before re-applying in the same category.

Three committees, namely the Executive Committee, the Technical Committee and the Marketing and Events Committee, have been formed to organise the event.

The total value of the award is one million dollars, which will be distributed to the winners in the following categories:

•    Gold and Silver awards for energy conservation in the private and public sectors

•    Gold and Silver awards for large-scale energy projects

•    Gold and Silver awards for small-energy projects

•    Gold and Silver awards for education and research, in addition to a special award for excellence as well as an award for young innovators in energy – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: Applications | EEA | Energy conservation | Emirates Energy Awards | Dubai Supreme Council of Energy |

calendarCalendar of Events