Wednesday 12 August 2020

Officials at the awards ceremony

Maqta Gateway CEO wins Seatrade's 'Young Person of the Year Award'

LONDON, May 12, 2019

Maqta Gateway Co, a wholly owned subsidiary of Abu Dhabi Ports, said that its chief executive officer Dr Noura Al Dhaheri was recognised with the ‘Young Person of the Year Award’ at the 31st Seatrade Awards, held recently in London, UK.

Dr Al Dhaheri was presented the award in front of nearly 250 esteemed guests by Chris Morley, event director, Seatrade Maritime, said a statement.

Morley said: “Our award has an impressive list of academic achievements including a Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree, and a PhD from MIT, in multiple information-technology-based disciplines applied to engineering systems, software and logistical operations.”

“Dr Al Dhaheri embodies the future of the maritime industry - a future which embraces digital innovation, globalisation and gender diversity,” he added.

Further high-profile personalities honoured at Seatrade Awards 2019 included:

•Outstanding Contribution to the Growth of the Cruise Industry: Madam WANG Hong, party secretary general of Shanghai Municipal People’s Government, Baoshan District;
•Integration of Women in the Maritime Sector Award: Dr Kirsi Tikka, executive vice president and senior maritime advisor, ABS;
•Global Performer 2019 – sponsored by DP World: Hapag-Lloyd AG (collected by Dr Maximilian Rothkopf, chief operating officer, Hapag-Lloyd AG);
•Personality of the Year 2019: John Platsidakis, honorary chairman of InterCargo, director of Angelicoussis Shipping Group, managing director of Maran Dry Management Inc;
•Lifetime Achievement Award 2019: Lord Mountevans, chairman, Maritime London and president, Institute of Chartered Shipbrokers.

A total of 13 winners were announced at the event which was hosted by Bob Jaques, editor, Seatrade Maritime Review, in the presence of special guest RT Hon Chris Grayling MP, secretary of state for Transport and official guest of honour, Professor Dame Jane Francis, Director, British Antarctic Survey.

Further Seatrade Awards 2019 winners include:
• Safety at Sea - sponsored by Bureau Veritas: Viking Life-Saving Equipment (product:Viking LifeCraftTM); Clean Shipping: Thordon Bearings (product: Compac); Investment in People: Synergy Marine Group (product: Investment in People); Digital Technology – sponsored by CCS: Northrop Grumman Sperry Marine (product: VisionMaster Net); Cyber Security: ABS (product: FCI Cyber Method); Fuel Efficiency: Teekay Offshore (product: Teekay E- Shuttle – Training Emissions into Fuel); Deal of the Year: Reed Smith.

The sponsors for the event included Bureau Veritas; China Classification Society; DNV GL and DP World. – TradeArabia News Service


More Industry, Logistics & Shipping Stories

calendarCalendar of Events