Monday 25 March 2019

10 new faces in Bahrain Shura Council

Manama, November 25, 2010

Ten new members have been appointed to Bahrain's Shura Council following a Royal Order issued by His Majesty King Hamad.

They include two former ambassadors Khalil Al Thawadi and Mohammed Al Mosalam as well as former MPs Dr Salah Abdulrahman and Dr Abdulaziz Abul.

Supreme Council for Women secretary-general Lulwa Al Awadhi was also appointed alongside three other women, Christian human rights activist Hala Qoraisa, Jewish historian Nancy Khedhouri and Jameela Nasif.

Former Al Methaq newspaper editor-in-chief Mohammed Al Sitri and Juma Mohammed Al Ka'abi have also been named.

Ali Saleh Al Saleh has been named chairman for the second consecutive term, with 14 councillors serving for the third consecutive term and 15 for the second consecutive term.

Members who are leaving the council include Jameel Mubrook, Fawziya Al Saleh, Widad Al Fadhel, Alice Sama'an, Hamad Al Sulaiti, Esam Janahi, Abdulla Al A'ali, Abdulrahman Al Ghatam, Faisal Fulad and Rashid Mal'alah Sabt.-TradeArabia News Service

Tags: Bahrain | government | Shura Council | Councillors |

calendarCalendar of Events