Thursday 4 March 2021

Sheikh Zayed Book Award ..... among most prestigious prizes

Sheikh Zayed Book Award announces winners

ABU DHABI, April 12, 2015

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award, one of the most prestigious and well-funded prizes in the Arab World, has announced its winners for this year (2014 - 2015) which marks the award's ninth session.

The announcement of winners came after extensive discussions between the award's board of trustees and the scientific committee of the results submitted by the judging panels across the award's categories, said a statement.

The awards are held in memory of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, ruler of Abu Dhabi and President of the UAE for more than 30 years, and his pioneering role in national unity and the country’s development.

The award is an independent cultural accolade with a total monetary value of Dh7 million ($1,905,721), it added.

The winners of the awards are:

First: The 'Literature' Award: Majaneen bait lahem (The fools of Bethlehem) a novel by Ossama Alaysa from Palestine, published by Nofal-Hachette Antoine (2013).

Second: 'Translation' Award: Naguib Mahfouz's  Cairo Trilogy (Palace Walk, Palace of Desire and Sugar Street) translated to Japanese language from Arabic by Hanawa Haruo from Japan, and published by Kokusho Kankokai (2013).

Third: 'Arab Culture in Other Languages' Award: Arabian-Naito to Nihon-Jin (The Arabian Nights and the Japanese) by Sugita Hideaki from Japan, published by Iwanami Shoten (2012).

Fourth: 'Publishing and Technology' Award: Arab Scientific Publishers Inc. from Lebanon.

The "Cultural Personality of the Year" award will be announced during a press conference in the following weeks. For the awards of "Literary and Art Criticism", "Young Author" and "Contribution to the Development of Nations" and "Children's Literature" categories, were withheld for this year as nominations did not meet the Award's criteria for winning.

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award's first instalment was in 2007, intended to promote scholarship and creativity in Arab culture. It carries cash prizes worth Dh750, 000 ($200,000) per winner in a total of all eight categories, and Dh1 million for the winner of the “Cultural Personality of the Year”. The winners also receive a certificate of merit and a Gold Medal. The Awards Presentation Ceremony will take place in Abu Dhabi in May, during the Abu Dhabi International Book Fair, in Abu Dhabi, UAE, it further stated. – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: | Sheikh Zayed Book Award |

More Miscellaneous Stories

calendarCalendar of Events