Thursday 21 June 2018

Top Driving Academy to offer scholarships to winners

Dubai, August 19, 2014

The Automobile and Touring Club of the UAE (ATCUAE) is staging the Mena and Central Asia regional qualifying event for the FIA Institute Young Driver Excellence Academy (YDEA) next month.

Like 22 other national motor sport authorities from around the region, the ATCUAE has also been invited by the FIA Institute to nominate a driver aged between 15 and 23 to take part in the event, one of six regional qualifiers worldwide, a statement said.

Winners from each gain automatic selection into the fully funded 2015 Academy programme, which develops young talent and promotes safety in motor sport.  Four more drivers will be selected using a wildcard system, it said.

“This is a fantastic opportunity for the region’s best young drivers to develop their skills, and enhance their chances of a career in international motor sport,” said ATCUAE president Mohammed Ben Sulayem, the FIA vice president.

The ATCUAE will be assessing potential candidates before nominating its representative in the coming weeks.  The 23 drivers will receive four days of world-class training and education in Abu Dhabi.  In addition to learning advanced driving techniques, they will be tutored on modern media techniques, teamwork and psychology, by a team of experts, the statement said.

Nominated by the ATCUAE, young Emirati Mohamed Al Mutawaa became the first Arab driver to enter the academy programme two years ago, and has since developed his career with Abu Dhabi Racing in the World and Middle East Rally Championship, it said.

The event covers six regions.  The others take place in Holland (North Eastern Europe), Croatia (South Western Europe), South Africa (Sub-Saharan Africa), Mexico (Americas) and China and Australia jointly (Asia-Pacific).

This year’s qualifying event for the Mena and Central Asia region covers Algeria, Bahrain, Cyprus, Egypt, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkmenistan and Yemen and UAE, said a statement. – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: scholarship |

More Motoring Stories

calendarCalendar of Events