Wednesday 26 January 2022

Oman suspends entry from 7 African countries

MUSCAT, November 29, 2021

Oman’s Supreme Committee has banned entry for travellers arriving from seven African countries or any arrivals from any other country if they happened to have passed by these countries within the past 14 days prior to applying to enter the Sultanate.

The seven countries named in the Covid-19 Supreme Committee’s decision today are: South Africa, Namibia, Bostwana, Zimbabwe, Lesotho, Eswatini and Mozambique, reported Oman News Agency (ONA).

The travel ban takes place from 8 am on November 28, 2021, till further notice.

The travel ban decision exempts Omani citizens, diplomats, health workers and their families and citizens of the above-mentioned countries who have valid residency status in Oman.

All those exempted from the travel ban decision—including Omani citizens, will have to undergo PCR (polymerase chain reaction) test upon arrival, as well as a 7-day institutional quarantine—and a repetition of the PCR on the 6th day.


More Travel, Tourism & Hospitality Stories

calendarCalendar of Events