Wednesday 6 July 2022

Zayed Energy to announce winners on January 16

ABU DHABI, January 11, 2017

The Zayed Future Energy Prize will announce the winners of its ninth cycle during the awards ceremony, which follows the opening of the Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW) on January 16.

To date, 48 winners have been recognised by the Zayed Future Energy Prize for their continued commitment to delivering a sustainable future, positively influencing more than 289 million lives. This includes providing over 25 million people in Africa and Asia with access to modern, clean energy, off-setting over 1 billion tons of carbon emissions and ensuring 17 million children of school age can study at night using innovative solar-powered utilities.

Director of the Zayed Future Energy Prize, Dr Nawal Al-Hosany said: “The Zayed Future Energy Prize embodies the growing global momentum behind efforts to achieve accessible, secure and sustainable energy. Our ninth cycle entrants represent the diversity of organisations and people that are taking leadership in this field and providing a strong benchmark for future applicants to follow.”

Dr Al-Hosany continued: “2016 was a truly exceptional year for the Zayed Future Energy Prize. Not only did we receive a record 1,676 entries from across 103 countries, but we passed another important milestone – a lifetime total of more than 10,000 submissions and nominations.”

The finalists in the Small and Medium Enterprise (SME) category are silicon wafer manufacturer 1366 Technologies and energy storage firms, sonnen and 24M. These three companies represent two intertwined and growing markets: solar photovoltaics and battery storage technology.  In the Non-Profit Organisation (NPO) category, We Care Solar, Practical Action and Solar Sister, organisations that aim to alleviate energy poverty and empower women in developing countries, are vying for the award.

The prize will also reward five of 15 school finalists from across five world-regions (Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania) in the Global High Schools category. In the remaining two categories the prize will announce the recipients of the Large Corporation category and the Lifetime Achievement awards.

Last year, Former Prime Minister of Norway Dr. Gro Harlem Brundtland received the Lifetime Achievement award for her long-term and steadfast commitment to sustainability and sustainable development. The Large Corporation category award was presented to Chinese electric vehicles manufacturer BYD.

Tanzanian energy access business Off-Grid Electric was the winner in the SME category, while Indonesian non-profit organisation Kopernik was announced as the winner in the NPO category. Joining them were five schools spanning five regions of the globe, whom were the winners in the Global High Schools category.

The Zayed Future Energy Prize activities during ADSW will conclude with the participation of two former Global High Schools category winners in 'The Festival at Masdar City'. Hosted at Masdar City, the festival is the last event of ADSW 2017. Students from the 2016 award-winning schools will discuss the progress of their Zayed Future Energy Prize-funded sustainability projects.

ADSW is the annual global gathering that brings businesses and nations together to address challenges and celebrate achievements in sustainable development and clean energy. – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: Winners | Zayed Future Energy Prize | ADSW |

More Education, HR & Training Stories

calendarCalendar of Events