Saturday 20 July 2019

Emirates Glass Leaf awards presented

Dubai, November 9, 2008

Leading architects from across the globe were honoured at the prestigious Emirates Glass LEAF (Leading European Architects Forum) Awards ceremony which was held in London recently.

The Leaf is one of the world’s most influential international architectural and design events, and was established in 2003 to recognise and reward excellence across the profession.

Now in their fifth year, the Emirates Glass LEAF awards have rapidly become one of the most prestigious global architectural prize-objectives, recognising excellence in the international architectural, design and build fields.

The awards are open to all companies, technologies and individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the world of architecture and who strive to set higher benchmarks for the design of buildings-of-tomorrow, said an official of Emirates Glass (EGL).

Emirates Glass' involvement with the Leaf Awards reflects the company’s genuine interest in reaching international markets, and in promoting Dubai as the glass hub of the Middle East, Ziad Yazbeck, general manager, Emirates Glass said.

“Our involvement with the LEAF Awards reflects our consistent quest to be on the forefront of architectural excellence. through the Awards we are able to market ourselves as a leader in glass processing in the Middle East as well as being able to position our lead with major, designers, architects and consultants.”

This year, the 10 categories of the Awards attracted entries from 26 countries worldwide.
With more than 400 leading industry figures attending, the Awards was indeed the social and networking highlight of the global architectural and design world.

The winners were announced at a black-tie dinner at the Dorchester Hotel, in London on October 23 which was hosted by renowned interior designer and TV celebrity Laurence Llewelyn-Bowen.

During the award ceremony Emirates Glass presented the winning trophy to architects Schmidt Hammer Lassen, of Denmark who won the award for the Mixed Use Building of the Year as well as the grand prize for best architects of the year.

Other winners in the 10 categories include  PCKO Architects, bop arqitectura, John McAslan and Partners, Kengo Kuma and Associates, Skidmore, Owings and Merrill, Xavier Vilata Studio, LSI Architects LLP, WSP Architectural Design Consulting Co. Ltd and Foster + Partners.-TradeArabia News Service

Tags: Emirates Glass | Leaf awards | Architect |

More Industry, Logistics & Shipping Stories

calendarCalendar of Events