Sunday 1 October 2023

UAE launches Emirates Energy Award 2012-13

Dubai, October 2, 2012

The Supreme Council of Energy of the UAE has launched the Emirates Energy Award 2012-13, which will reward best initiatives in the areas of energy efficiency, alternative energy, sustainability and environmental protection.

Details of the award and its new logo were presented at a press conference at the Grand Hyatt hotel in Dubai, attended by Saeed Mohammed Al Tayer, vice-chairman of the Supreme Council of Energy and president of the Emirates Energy Award (EEA) and Nejib Zaafarani, secretary general and CEO of the Council, along with other dignitaries.

“The Emirates Energy Award aims to highlight the best practices and pioneering work in energy efficiency, alternative energy, sustainability and protection of the environment and also to recognize the best implemented practices in energy conservation that demonstrate innovative, cost effective and exemplary measures that drive a positive impact,” said Al Tayer.

Al Tayer stressed that the award will reward conservation and demand management efforts, highlighting the Supreme Council of Energy’s instrumental role in fostering a business-friendly environment through significant initiatives that achieve the goals of the Dubai Integrated Energy Strategy 2030.

“The Award not only focuses on the UAE as a world platform for sustainable development, but also stresses the importance of sustainability in the Mena region. We are confident that energy officials will appreciate the significance of this award and making its goal of achieving sustainable development a global priority as well,” said Al Tayer.

“Delivering a highly-efficient and reliable electricity and water infrastructure has played a key role in Dubai’s success as a global hub for trade, finance and tourism. The growth has spurred us to take essential steps to consistently improve demand management and conservation efforts.”

Applications are now open for any individuals, teams and organizations in the Middle East and Africa. The application process will come to a close in January 2013.

Eligible projects should meet several conditions, including being completed by December 2007, and being in operation for a period of at least one year.

The EEA scheme was developed based on specific criteria to ensure a fair process for all entries. This process is supported by detailed terms of reference, selected committees, application guidelines and evaluation processes leading to a publicized Award Ceremony in May 2013 to promote the award and recognize the winners.

The award recognizes achievements in six categories: Gold and Silver awards for Energy Conservation in the private and public sectors; Gold and Silver awards for large-scale energy projects; Gold and Silver awards for small-energy projects and Gold and Silver awards for education and research, in addition to a special award for excellence as well as an award for young innovators in energy.

Winners can apply for the next year’s award as well, with the exception of applications in the same category, which will be required to wait for three years before re-applying in the same category. – TradeArabia News Service

Tags: UAE | Dubai | Emirates Energy Award | Supreme Council | Sustainability | EEA |

More Energy, Oil & Gas Stories

calendarCalendar of Events