Sunday 24 June 2018

S Korea, Canada on 2010 F1 calendar

Paris, September 22, 2009

South Korea will make its Formula One debut in October next year while Canada will return to the calendar subject to contract negotiations, the governing International Automobile Federation (FIA) has said.

The season, expanded to a record-equalling 19 races for the first time since 2005, will start at Bahrain's Sakhir circuit on March 14.

Australia, the regular opener since 1996 apart from in 2006 when a clash with the Commonwealth Games pushed the race back to the third slot, becomes the second round on March 28 with Malaysia following a week later.

Canada, dropped this year, has been pencilled in for a return on June 13 while South Korea comes in for the first time on October 17 as planned. The championship ends in Brazil on November 14.

The FIA said the Turkish Grand Prix in Istanbul, which suffered a poor turnout this year, would be moved from May 30 to Canada's slot if contract negotiations with the Montreal organisers are not completed.

The races in Australia and Abu Dhabi will start at 1700 local time, Malaysia at 1600 local and Singapore at 2000.

Britain was given a July 11 slot, with no circuit mentioned.

Formula One supremo Bernie Ecclestone has said Silverstone will host it if Donington Park is not ready.

France was again absent after dropping off this year for financial reasons.

Teams will also have a longer break in August between Hungary (August 1) and Belgium (August 29). – Reuters

Tags: Formula 1 | South Korea | Canada | paris | 2010 | One |

More Motoring Stories

calendarCalendar of Events