Thursday 26 April 2018

40 in race for top energy prize

Abu Dhabi, December 21, 2010

Forty entries from the top 100 have been shortlisted for the coveted $1.5 million 'Zayed Future Energy Prize,' which honours innovation, performance and leadership in sustainable and renewable energy projects.

These entries came from a variety of organisations, NGOs, businesses and individuals who are committed to green energy technologies.

The US tops the list with 18 entries followed by UK and India with four, three from the Netherlands, two from Belgium, two from China and one each from Benin, Hong Kong, Brazil, Japan, Denmark, Sweden and Croatia.

The winners of 'Zayed Future Energy 2011 prize' will be honoured at an awards ceremony during the World Future Energy Summit (WFES) to be held on January 18 in Abu Dhabi.

In addition, two other runner ups will receive $350,000 each for outstanding work in the field of renewable and sustainable energy.

The total $2.2 million Zayed Future Energy Prize, now in its third year, is inspired by the vision and environmental stewardship of the late UAE founder Sheikh Zayed Bin Sultan Al Nahyan, said Dr Sgouris Sgouridis, chairperson of the Review Committee.

“Selecting the top 40 entries was very challenging yet rewarding, as the number, caliber and impact of the entries were impressive.'

'Although the top 40 are all strong candidates, ultimately the Prize will be awarded to the one who has made the greatest contribution to innovation, long-term vision and leadership in renewable energy and sustainability,' he noted.

'The submissions go through a rigorous and transparent evaluation process, starting with 391 entries this year. Every entry then passed a thorough due-diligence conducted by a reputed external research and analysis firm, from which top 100 entries were shortlisted.'

The rigorous and transparent judging and evaluations process is based on three main criteria: long-term vision, innovation and leadership.

'These 100 submissions were evaluated by the review committee shortlisting the best 40, from which the selection committee will determine the top six to be presented to the jury as finalists,' he added.

The jury is led by Dr RK Pachauri, the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate and chairman of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The other members are: Ólafur Ragnar Grimsson, president of Iceland; Khaled Irani, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Jordan; Ahmed Ali Al Sayegh, chairman of Masdar; Lord John Browne, MD of Riverstone Holdings; Lord Norman Foster, founder and chairman, Foster and Partners; and Dr Susan Hockfield, president, Massachusetts Institute Of Technology.

The scope of work of the entries include solar installations, solar-wind hybrid systems, wind turbine businesses, biofuel generation, energy storage, electric vehicles, hybrid vehicle charging technologies, low energy water treatments, storm resistant and eco homes, said Sgouridis.-TradeArabia News Service

Tags: abu dhabi | entries | Zayed Future Energy Prize |

More Energy, Oil & Gas Stories

calendarCalendar of Events